News Ticker
  • ThePlace, TheGeeks Invites available for sell! Message Thanos!
  • Empornium | Cinemageddon | Redacted | Pornbay | BeyondHD & many trackers Invites Available! Message Thanos!
  • Free IPtorrents & Bitspyder invite on Member Shop.
Sign in to follow this  

Rohit Sharma awarded India's highest sporting honour; Arjuna award for Ishant, Deepti

1 post in this topic

India's limited-overs vice-captain Rohit Sharma has been awarded India's highest sporting honour, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, the BCCI confirmed on Friday (August 21). Rohit has become just the fourth cricketer to be conferred with this award. The awards will be held virtually on August 29 due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

Rohit had an outstanding 2019 where he scored 1490 runs in ODIs at an average of 57.30, and also finished as the highest run-getter in the World Cup with five centuries in the tournament. He was also promoted as an opener in Test Cricket where he made 556 runs in five matches.

Sachin Tendulkar (1997-98), MS Dhoni (2007) and Virat Kohli (2018) are the other recipients of this award.

Meanwhile, Test seamer Ishant Sharma and women's team allrounder Deepti Sharma have been conferred with the Arjuna award. Senior pacer Ishant, who has now become a vital cog in the Test side, picked up 25 wickets in six Tests last year at an impressive average of 15.56.

Deepti was a part of the side that reached the Women's T20 World Cup final last year in Australia. She picked up 19 wickets in T20Is and 15 wickets in 50-over cricket last year.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this